Malaysia (Malaysian: Malaysia) is a state in Southeast Asia, made up of Peninsular Malaysia or West Malaysia (most of Peninsula Malaysia) and East Malaysia (northern Borneo). The long form name Federation of Malaysia (in Malaysian: Persekutuan Malaysia), sometimes used to refer to the Malaysian state, is not official for the Malaysian authorities. Malaysia is located about 200 km north of the equator. Its historic capital is Kuala Lumpur, its administrative capital is Putrajaya, and its area is 329,750 km2. It is home to a thousand-year-old jungle. The Malaysian government estimates the population to reach 27 million.